Help:Group rights

From WikituneUp - The Free Service Manual
Jump to: navigation, search

A contributor's access to perform certain actions in WikiTuneup is determined by various flags on their account, some of which are automatic and others of which must be given to them manually. A user with a flag is said to be a member of that flag's 'user group', giving them certain 'permissions' and the use of certain features.

New Users[edit]

A user who edits through an account they have registered, may immediately create pages in any namespace (except the MediaWiki namespace) and may also e-mail other users if they activate an email address in their user preferences.

Administrators[edit]

Administrator rights are granted by the community to users requesting them. The process involves considerable discussion and examination of their activities as an editor. Users who are members of the 'administrator' user group have access to a number of tools to allow them to carry out certain functions on the wiki. The tools cover processes such as page deletion, page protection, blocking and unblocking, access to modify fully protected pages and the Mediawiki interface, and the ability to grant and remove account creator, amongst other things.

Admins are also known as sysops.

Bureaucrats[edit]

Bureaucrat rights are granted by the community to exceptionally trusted users who are allowed to perform certain actions on other users' accounts.

Bureaucrats have extended access to Special:UserRights, enabling them to add users to the 'sysop' and 'bureaucrat' groups (but not remove them), and both add users to and remove users from the 'bot' user group. Bureaucrats can use Special:RenameUser to rename users (including themselves).